3D image looks worse with more photos?

I’m new to this. I recently completed a job at a refinery and when I went to upload the images, my laptop died before it completed. I took a total of 500 images, but the computer died after only uploading 394. I was unable to charge it and resume, so DD I guess thought I was done and processed what I had uploaded. When looking at the map showing the location of the photos, the entire middle section was missing, so I only had a left and a right section basically.

When the map was finished, I took a look and on the 2D image, there are some very rough spots up the middle section, which I wasn’t suprised by since it missed those photos on the upload, but the 3D map looked pretty good and was basically acceptable. I figured both would improve when I uploaded all 500 photos and I thought the 3D map would be damn near perfect.

The weird thing is the 3D map with all 500 photos looks way worse. There is a large square structure in the middle and it looks like a comet hit it because a huge section is missing from the side/middle, but also overall the 3D map just looks inferior than the prior version done with fewer photos.

The photos I uploaded were about 475 top down, and about 25 ortho, mostly of the large structure that looks like crap. Any idea as to why this happened? Could it be a processing issue? Should I reupload the images and try again?

Hi Kev.

It’s interesting you point this out as I regularly have the same problem and generally have to upload the images using a variety of different permitations before I get it right. Sometimes I give up on the 3D and just settle with a good 2d map. Sometimes I get better results with just nadir and no oblique, sometimes it’s better with one crosshatch mission added, other times with 2 crosshatch. On one occasion I uploaded the nadir and added half a dozen oblique. That was probably my second best 3D result and have no explanation for it.