First Time Using-Almost a Critical Error

Hello, I’m new to DD and these forums. I had a bad experience my first flight. I went to a local park to test a 2 acre flight. The drone went to altitude (250 feet) went to the starting waypoint, then the second waypoint. There was one more waypoint in the flight path. After waypoint number 2, my drone started a controlled descent. I started to panic, luckily the drone responded to my frantic controls to get it back to proper elevation and eventually to me. Any ideas what might have happened? Also, will selecting Orbit upon completion address this? Thanks for any insight.

Hi Ken, there are a few known reliability issues with the app that the team is working through. Apologies on that end. Which drone were you using (Phantom 3, 4?) and tablet? I can then ask the team what might have happened here.

Inspire 1V2 with a Zenmuse 3 camera. Samsung S4 Galaxy tablet. I just updated the firmware on the controller and drone last week. Thanks for looking into this.

As I’m looking at the imagery, the drone did not cover the entire polygon of coverage in my plan. So I don’t think it thought it was done.

Ok, passing this on to an engineer so they’re aware of it. Will get back to you soon.

Thank you. I appreciate it.

After the drone takes off, the DJI autopilot is in control. If any safety features of DJI get triggered DD will not stop it from doing any sort of emergency landing, etc. You should be able to cancel anything except the most critical battery landings though. I’m not sure which things could cause this. I’d suggest investigating with the flight logs on the drone similar to any other weird behavior when flying with DJI Go 4.