Removing Conveyor using DTM?

fullsizeoutput_4def

I’m new to using DD for figuring volume on stockpiles. Is there anything else to do besides selecting DTM for these particular piles to remove the conveyor from the calculation?

Carefully trace the pile and around the
edges of the conveyor to get a smaller estimate. Compare the 2 values. Are they close? If so the small error will be reduced further if you take the average of the 2 values.
Regards,
Terry.

1 Like

If you trace around the conveyor the does it cut out the part of the pile underneath?

In the (?) section of the Surface selection it says…
“To exclude conveyors, bulldozers or other equipment from volume measurement, select the Digital Terrain Model (DTM)”

I haven’t found anything in the tutorials about measuring with and then around the conveyor and then averaging between the two values. If you do that you cut out all of the pile underneath the conveyor to the base plane, and leaving it in counts the airspace between the conveyor and the pile as volume.

I am just looking for some confirmation that using the DTM feature this will accurately measure the pile below the conveyor. Or is there anything else required.

Yes, if you trace around the conveyor then that part of the pile under the conveyor will be left out of the volume measurement. This will give a slightly smaller number. With the conveyor included you get a volume that is too big due to the conveyor being higher than the pile. When you average the two it is like including half of what is under the conveyor. This may be a little bigger than the actual pile but not by much since the error is on only a small fraction of the total. Try this and report back with the numbers.

You can try the DTM also and see how that compares.

Regards,
Terry.

1 Like