Volume Measurement from a Hole

I was wondering if I am able to measure how much dirt came out of a hole/trench in the ground? I have the business plan. Would I just fly a 3D map or Ortho map of the area to be measured? Then would one just outline the edge of the hole with the volume tool? Any help on this would be great!

Thanks,
Bryan

Normally you would do a volume annotation on the stockpiles. Or are you trying to take off the hole to figure out how much it will take to fill it?

Hi, I have client that has removed dirt from one area, leaving the hole and has trucked it out to a job site. I guess there are discrepancies on how much dirt was moved between him and the contractor. He was wanting me to map the site with the hole and get a measurement from that. Im new to the measurement side of things so any help is appreciated.

Thank,
Bryan

Yes you can quantify a hole tracing just like a stockpile perimeter. It will tell you fill. Thing is that there is a swell factor around 1.2-1.5x so there will be a discrepancy.

Thanks Michael. It will be interesting what I come up with for a number. How would you recommend flying the site? The site is a 2 mile “trench” along a river. Would I just ortho map it and get my numbers off that or should I 3D cross hatch it?

Bryan

1 Like

What mobile device are you using? I would use Corridor flight Plan if you have access to it. Standard nadir images are usually the best because you need to see down into the trench. Can you provide any area info so that we can take a look? How wide is the trench?

They are digging along a river channel. It has filled in over the years from the surrounding crop soil

The trench is probably 130 ft wide. They come down off a dirt dike system and are digging along the bank of the dike. Im using an ipad for the flight. The screen shot is from a few years ago, but it show where they had gotten material from the spot before. Now I guess they have cleaned it all out for 2 miles.

Bryan