Tips on how to improve this 3d model?

Hi all,

I was hoping someone could help me improve the quality of my 3d model. I’m very new to DD (only 3 maps done so far), so please bear with me.

I mapped the same location twice. Once in structure mode and once in terrain mode.

1. http://drdp.ly/9V9g41
  • 500 images
  • 276 Nadir (35m altitude, 80/80 front and side overlap, 24 speed)
  • 224 Oblique (orbit flights around each structure. 35m altitude, 50-70m radius, about 40-50 pictures per structure)
  • Captured 2pm, good lighting.
  • The goal of this run was having a good 3d model.
  1. http://drdp.ly/1x9Yuv
  • 375 images
  • All nadir (35m altitude, 80/80 front and side overlap, 24 speed)
  • Captured 4pm, good lighting.
  • The goal of this run was generating a good Ortho.

My goal is to have as much structural detail as possible, hence why I chose structure for the 3d model oriented run. However, I was surprised to find that Terrain processing produced a comparable model to structure, despite using less pictures and having no oblique images. In fact, it seems that terrain actually edged out structure in terms of rooftop detail.

So my question is: what are the ideal settings/best practices for mapping urbanized terrain? The vast majority of my work will be mapping and modeling for in progress job-sites, so structural detail is very valuable to me.

Would I be better off using terrain, where I have a 3,000 image limit and just add cross-hatching and many more oblique layers?

Thanks!

Adding this here since I can only post 2 links as a new member:

Here is another example of a map processing with “terrain”. http://drdp.ly/wrafae

In this case I got very good details on one of the rooftop AC units. I did however, fly much closer for my obliques. I was probably on 20m radius vs 50-70m.

Hi!