Problem mapping a forest for DTM

Hello all,
I’m a young pilot from Cameroon. The problem I have is that our Company took a job to realize a DTM of a forest in a swamp with à normal dji phantom 4 pro v2 camera. The problem is that after the first trial, we remarked it woulf be really complicated without a clear view of the ground.
But we don’t have any lidar camera. Please do you have any idea on how to do to solve this problem ? I Heard about carlson Precision 3d topo somewhere here… Please how to ?

Thank you in advance for any advices

1 Like

I’m probably the one that recommended Carlson. Can you PM me a link to download the point cloud? I’d like to take a look at it and run at it before I make too many recommendations.

1 Like

Hi MichaelL,
Thank you for your answer.
I launched the processing of the point cloud in DroneDeploy in xyz format.

While waiting for it to be done, here is the view only link of the first trial we made :

https://www.dronedeploy.com/app2/data/5e19fb50964228557e4a4a08;jwt_token=eyJ0eXAiOiJKV1QiLCJhbGciOiJIUzUxMiJ9.eyJleHAiOjI1MzQwMjMwMDc5OSwiaWQiOiI1ZTE5ZmI1MDk2NDIyODU1N2U0YTRhMDgiLCJzY29wZSI6WyJmM2E4OGFjOTA0XzRCRjg3NDE3NjJPUEVOUElQRUxJTkUiXSwidHlwZSI6IlJlYWRPbmx5UGxhbiIsIm92ZXJsYXlfZm9sZGVyX2lkIjoiNWUxODVkZmEzMmNhZjMzN2NmYTk0NDdlIn0.8Lk7lt9tY_CUBwIWtBsxGChr0rO02pz7_IB4HK_YcAjimZPO0wrBk0DNlXCMGBWVQknYISZlIP5e9PUbZwIuVQ

Thanks for this. After looking at the model the palm covers the ground too much and I don’t think it would be possible to make a DTM with photogrammetry. Even LIDAR would have trouble getting enough in-between points to make an accurate DTM with this. Unfortunately to only way I can see getting this one done is with a total station or robotic instrument. You may be able to do it with GPS if you have an extra tall rover rod.

We’ve also got a couple of holes. Comparing Carlson and DD confirming.

Carlson P3D Topo

DD