Planning oblique shots for 3d landscape model in an area with lots of tree cover

Hi all, I’m new to drone mapping but have been flying drones for a few years now. I am taking on some landscape work on my property and also mapping to watch for erosion from a creek there.

Here’s a drone shot (this isn’t a map but a single shot to show the area):

Basically, I have no probably doing a nadir map at 150 ft, but really want I want to be able to create is a 3d model I can “walk through”. I understand doing a POI oblique shot helps particularly with facade details on structures - but in this case I don’t care too much about the structures there but about be able to scroll the landscape in a 3d model.

I can do manual shots from the “inside” (the field in the middle). Or can I just fly the drone inside the tree cover and add that as a “walkthrough”?

Essentially I’m looking for help on what to do after capturing the nadir images from bird’s eye view. And also on those nadir images, is -90 degree gimbal angle best, or will something slightly less give better depth perception for the 3d model?

I plan to do all the capturing this weekend. Thanks very much in advance!

2 Likes

I don’t know that you will be able to create a clean walkthrough with that many trees but you could flight plan to get a decent amount out from the open areas. Just off the top of my head we would approach it something like this.

1. Standard nadir 75ft above the tallest object with 75/65 overlaps.
  2. Enhanced 3D same altitude w/ crosshatch and no perimeter, 70/70 overlaps and a 65deg gimbal
  3. Go to each spot that you can drop down in and manually spin with a 45deg gimbal as if you were making a pano but just one row around. At each spin let it sit for a second or two to let the GPS and orientation values to settle. You might do this at two different altitudes if it looks like that would help.

Thanks @MichaelL really appreciate your feedback. I have a few follow up questions.