Payment model

I am a small time drone operator living in a part of the world with “no-fly” conditions some 8 months per year spelled darkness and temperature. I did my last gig a week ago, and the next one will be in may if I’m lucky.

I have found Dronedeploy being the premiere service for me, but the pricing model is effectively excluding operators such as I. I am not having any opinion regarding the level, it is the model I’m after.

I simply cannot afford paying for the service 12-months-a-year and only use the service 4 out of the 12 months. No bucks flowing in during the winter (no-fly period) but the same cost.

I have tried a couple of competitors to DD over the years. A couple of them are using a ticket-based system. That is: You are buying tickets (or credits) you are using whenever you like. When I have used the tickets, I have to buy new ones. This method is simple and in not excluding us on the simpler side of the fence, so to speak.

I have a secret to share, but don’t tell anyone: I am using fake e-mail addresses to create fake trial accounts in where I can get my captures processed. I would not mind paying for the service if I could buy tickets rather than a 12-month-subscription. This would also make it easier when creating the invoice to the customer. You know EXACTLY how many credits the processing took.

If you like my thoughts or having other solutions to the problem: please make a comment below.

1 Like

This has always been a weakness of DroneDeploy and I don’t see them changing any time soon. It does exclude a pretty good customer base, but there are options out there. I would recommend Carlson PhotoCapture as a pay as you go model.

Tried Carlson a few weeks ago. Feels so sad to start the learning process over again… But i guess you are right, Michael. If a BIG customer asks for something it will probably be delivered quite fast, but if a smaller customer ask for something it will take time.
And of course: DD will not earn that much money…