Part 107 Licensing?

I’m utterly surprised and/or confused by the FAA’s required test for drone “pilots”. Am I reading the correct information? I’m a tree scientist, landscape architect, arborist. I use my DJI 4 on DroneDeploy auto to make simple landscape maps at roughly 150-200 feet over residential properties. Sometimes I fly it around a 50-150 foot tall tree to identify tree diseases.

According to the FAA, I’m expected to answer questions like: "A stall occurs when the smooth airflow over the unmanned airplane`s wing is disrupted, and the lift degenerates rapidly. This is caused when the wing… " and “With ATC authorization, you are operating your small unmanned aircraft approximately 4 SM southeast of Elizabeth City Regional Airport (ECG). What hazard is indicated to be in that area?..”

Is this real? Or am I completely in the wrong loop here? Is there versatility for people in my situation who have absolutely zero intent on learning this level of aeronautics? DJI seems to be moving towards producing nearly-autonomous products…

Sincerely,
-Confused and possibly ranting.

1 Like

From what I understand, if you are using the UAS for personal, hobby, Non-Commercial use, you are NOT required to take part in Part 107. However if the intent of flying is to earn money from the results of flying then its in your best interest to pass Part 107. That said, I think the FAA has to cover A LOT of possible factors when putting together a 60 or so question test to give a person license to fly in our friendly sky (50 ft or 500ft). Thus I am afraid you will want to prepare for answering questions that are outside of your current use case. There are a multitude of YouTube videos and other venues to find knowledge to use in preparation. Good luck… I don’t think you are alone in your feelings… The 107 ruling is significantly better than where things were with the 333 exception process. One step at a time. :slight_smile: