Map details deformation

Totally new territory to me … Perhaps I’m asking for too much, but I’m somehow disappointed by the quality of my first 2D map ever, created with default settings and DJI P4P drone. When magnified, many details appear badly deformed, smudged like. I did my homework with DroneDeploy tutorials, I’m a seasoned aerial photographer, familiar with image stitching technology and requirements for successful mapping imagery. I don’t believe that I can improve the quality of images delivered for processing, although I may be wrong. I tend to suspect that the 3D option is somehow messing with the quality of 2D stitching. I’m not much into 3D, all I need is a detailed 2D map utilizing the resolution of provided images to a possible level of the truth. Is there any way to improve just that at the expense of 3D greatly overrated significance?

Hi @Matthew,

Thanks for swinging by the DroneDeploy Forum. Can you share some sample images of your map so we have a better idea of what the issue is?

Also, can you verify that you have “Set Exposure Manually in DJI Go” and “Set Focus Manually in DJI Go” toggled off in your Advanced settings of your flight plan?

Keep me posted,
Christina

my%20map
original%20image_crop

Christina, thank you for response. You should be able to see the artifacts on first image, next is the original image.
However, I’m a bit confused by these advanced camera settings requirements … If it’s toggled off, than what (or who?) will take care of these critical set ups?

Regards,
Matthew

You might try the crosshatch flight pattern in this app to get perspective images from two angles to help alleviate issues like this. The altitude you fly based on the subject matter may also affect this. Some of it comes down to getting experience on how to optimize the results.
https://www.dronedeploy.com/app-market/flight/euzhsdlrfpdctiekqlmu.html

Oblique images also can help but adapting them to optimize the subject matter is sometimes necessary.