Lost Drone (Flyaway?). What May Have Happened?

I am posting this on here mainly to see if anyone has had a similar issue or has advice for next steps and/or preventing this from happening in the first place. I am new to using UAVs but as far as I know I set things up the correct way and took the necessary steps that I was supposed to take. Please let me know if I am wrong.

I created a new project on Drone Deploy and loaded a property boundary KML which was roughly 300 acres. Set all of the necessary parameters (300 feet, 70% overlap). I saved the map/project and moved on to setting up drone (Mavic 2). I connected controller to iphone, turned on the controller and then the Mavic 2. Opened the DJI Go App where I got a “New Firmware Update is Available” message. I updated the firmware and repeated this step for all four of my batteries.

When I got out into the field I took everything out, connected phone to controller, powered on controller and then drone. I opened DJI Go App and checked camera, did general visual inspection, moved drone up and down etc. This is where I saw a message that I needed to calibrate the compass, so I followed the directions which involved me rotating the drone horizontally and vertically. After a short period of time I got a notification that the compass had calibrated successfully. GPS lock acquired so from here everything looked good.

I opened up Drone Deploy, opened project and ran through checklist. Everything came back good so I launched the drone to begin the mission.