Linear mapping project

Hello all,

I have a potential opportunity for drone documentation of a 22 mile pipeline route along an existing high voltage power line. All of my mapping projects have be traditional grid type sites so I have no experience with this type of project. I have also flown a number of times in the vicinity of high voltage lines but never along them for any extensive length. I am certain that I would be flying well above them as high resolution images is not a critical requirement.

No survey control is required as the project requirement is simply to document existing conditions along the route for inclusion in a pre-bid package. The client initially asked for video along the length of the route (they know nothing about drone regs, line of site, flight range, etc) but it seems to me that a linear mapping route would be much more practical and useful.

My question is, never having used the linear route function in DD, would I need to plan the flights in line of sight segments or does the linear route option in DD have some method of establishing the entire route and them breaking it up the segments to allow for daisy chaining of takeoff/landing points along the route? Many other questions to be answered such as access points and ability to travel by truck along the route but, obviously I will have to answer those by research and reconnaissance. Most of the route is in a rural area so following the drone in a vehicle is a potential option if conditions allow vehicular travel along the route.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Steve

1 Like

Are you just needing images or are you looking for an accurate stitched map? Either way I don’t think DroneDeploy is good for long linear missions. You might checkout DJI Terra if you are most interested in automatically splitting up a very long project. I currently have a 10-mile roadway that was really easy to split manually so I don’t know that it is that big of a deal.

Hey Michael,