How to gain flight time with all the restrictions?

I am a licensed Part 107 pilot, also a Single engine land, Instrument rated private AC pilot, 40 years.
I live in Pennsylvania.The Governor just signed a law, effective the end of this month, that criminalizes use of drones, if some one complains that you are using your drone to spy on them. How they enforce this escapes me. I can only fly in my back yard so many times before I am expecting an issue. Add to that, you are not allowed to fly in any Federal or State park, and I was kicked out of two local parks where no one ever goes.
So my question essentially is, how and where do you fly your drone to gain flight experience to make yourself commercially viable? thanks, Mike

1 Like

Mike,
When we were first getting started, we flew a lot at local model aircraft fields. Our city parks & recreation department publishes a list of local parks that allow model aircraft flying and we went there. We also searched for local model aircraft groups and found a couple of great places to fly with other enthusiasts. Sure, you have to share time with the drone racers and the scale modelers but there is usually plenty of time and space to practice.

-Tony

1 Like

Unfortunately because of bad apples this is the direction we are going. Soon model pilots will have to pass a test and we are not far from transponders on all drones. I personally am for this because (1) It will deter the explosion of number of drones in the sky, (2) It will force people to become educated and (3) It will give the authorities the tools to actually regulate those bad apples. If you do what you are supposed to do, notify people out of a courtesy even if it isn’t required and educate others you will shine.