How Create a Simple 3D Model from existing drone pics?

I am a hobbyist wanting to just experience quickly what DroneDeploy can do for me. Yes, I realize that I should read all the info and watch the Academy videos and I WILL do that once I figure out that DroneDeploy is the tool I need to master. =)

So, I am looking for quick “shake and bake” workflow before my trail period runs out. My goal would be to :

1. Open a Project
  2. Import my existing drone photographs of a simple shed structure (taken with overlap, different heights, different angles, etc.)
  3. Create viewable model from my photos
  4. Export maybe in LAZ or other point cloud format that I could import into Unreal 5.1

I am seeking a few “do this and do that” steps or a reference to the correct link that covers that type of scope.

2 Likes

From what I can see you have the workflow. Upload your images, they create everything and export the LAS.

1 Like

The DroneDeploy fly apps do not support DJI Mini2. Can I still manually fly and take pictures and submit those shots to utilize the rendering softeware?

2 Likes

Yes. DroneDeploy works with any images which have the required GPS data embedded. The Mini 2 does.

1 Like

OK, I am stuck. =)
I used Litchi control app ( No option for Mini 2 with DroneDeploy) I captured 120 images at different heights and different gimbal angles. Etc.
I opened DroneDeploy on my desktop and created a project and at that view, I clicked on upload and uploaded my jpg images (took about 10 minutes).

The upload process ended but now I am stuck as how to see that 3d model or point cloud or whatever is the next step in 3D model building.