Emlid Discussion

I’m a Site Engineer/Surveyor and I use a drone to map an area I’m surveying (I use an actual robotic Edm for the survey).
Though the level issue you have with the grass makes any elevation data defunct, it’s still quite useful as a surveyor to have an overhead map.
So maybe try selling the idea of just giving them a map of the area.
I find it useful as when I get back to the office I quite often waste a lot of time figuring out what all the crosses on the survey represent, even when they are on different layers.
And if the map can be locked to some GCPs (I personally use my stations I’ve set up) then with Magnet Topo that I use to draw the survey I can load the map as a background image.
Only started doing this recently and I’ve found it brilliant.

Robotic EDM = Total Station? Use GCPs and shoot in between the GCP’s, tie-ins and the tops/toes. Then you merge the topos and will still save over 50% of your time on 40-50 acres. I normally use my Hiper V’s, but I just received two Emlid Reach RS+ receivers that I bought for $1500 and will let you all know what I can make of it. Might be a game changer for those that can’t afford the big toys.

I just looked at those Emlid things.
I’d be interested to see how you get on with them.
Be great to have a cheaper alternative to the Hiper V. Which I can’t justify the cost of.

I’m on site today so we’ll have some kind of verdict if I can get the basic setup figure it out. It’s a lot different than topcon or tremble. I want to get the reach base and Rover connected and then I’ll try to connect the reach Rover to the Topcon base. Emlid has a really good forum just like this one as well.

Hi Michael.
How did get on out on site. Is it a viable option buying these things.
Oh and sorry to Wayne for hijacking his thread a bit.
Mark

I’ll start a new thread. @Christina, can you move our posts to a new thread? Like @Imeleon said, we kind of hijacked this thread.

@MichaelL New thread is created! :slight_smile: