Drone deploy + Zenmuse XT or X3 for detecting weeds/different plants?

Hi All! First time poster with possible stupid questions.

I"m new to drones and have discovered my workplace has an Inspire 1 and Zenmuse XT and Standard X3.

I’m a ranger who works in the national parks and am hoping to scan large areas that have a mixture of weeds and native plants and to be able to highlight the different plants, e.g. Different colours for each plant species. I’m wondering if the zenmuse xt is the tool for this?

My understanding is (I’m new at this so I may be completely wrong) that ndvi is good only for plant health involving photosynthesis with the 3 bands of colour and infrared. But probably not good for seperating different types of plants? Zenmuse xt and the standard x3 I believe can’t do NDVI.

Zenmuse XT can detect temperature to One tenth of a degree so MAYBE it would be able to seperate the different plants with individual heat signatures (some plants reflect/absorb more heat than others?). With using Radiometric Jpegs stitched through drone deploy?

Please let me know if my understanding is correct/incorrect or if I have totally the wrong camera. I couldn’t find any examples online of people using drones to highlight different species of plants, only examples of uniform crops. So if you know any examples please let me know it would be invaluable to know if its possible.

Cheers.

William

I haven’t heard of the cameras being used to identify different species of plants. You MIGHT have more success (just speculating) with a multi-spectral camera like Slantrange, but I’m not sure. You might check the sUAS Commercial Mapping Pilots group on Facebook.

Hi Uiriamu,

I fly the Inspire 1 mapping farm fields in the mid-west. Your basic assertion regarding the NDVI and XT camera are correct in that they are best used to detect plant health conditions. With the XT camera coming in last with practitioners.