DD terrain map married to SKETCHUP for architectural planning?

Hey guys, I’m pretty new to this and drowning currently. I’m currently on a mission to understand just how much I DONT know.

This is what I’m up against:
I’ve got a lot of connections in real estate and development. I’ve got someone asking me through if I could use DD as a way to help them build fly-through 3d render models for use in planning and pitching to clients.

I THINK this sounds doable, but I’m trying to figure out what the workflow would look like, and I’d appreciate it if someone could just give me a road map t explore along.

Something like:
Build DTM model of terrain with Drone deploy > export as OBJ file > convert to XYZ with Blender > Import into Sketchup > use that imported terrain > Either manually craft 3D model of building inside Sketchup or just OVERLAY precrafted model onto the terrain base.

Again, I have NO idea about how this works or what the workflow would be (I’m a videographer / editor by trade).

THis is all new territory and I’d just appreciate it if someone could tell me where to start learning, or where I’m going to run into snag.

Thanks!

2 Likes

You can use Meshlab to import the OBJ file and convert it to a DAE or STL.

Thanks Michael. So does that overall sound like a sensible plan? It’s looking like I’ll have to upgrade to a pro plan and then pay $20 a pop to create those DTM files to get JUST the slope of the land.

As far as I can tell, the program exports contours as SHP files or Autocad DXF files. ( recent discovery). And then I think I’d have to pay for Sketchup pro to be able to import those files into Sketchup.

Are contours what I need you think? Or any resources you can point at would be great.

1 Like