Completely new to this...stand counts, plant heights, NDVI

I’m new to drones in general. I was looking @ the inspire…Curious about cameras etc. I do contract research for a large number of companies, therefore I have countless stand counts and plant height ratings in my test plots. Can the correct setup do this? If so, what setup? Most stand counts are conducted early season…VE-V6. Does it simply take the pics and then we count off the pics…or does a software count the plants within a specified area?Most plant heights are V6-V10. Also, what NDVI camera is the best?

1 Like

Basically, at the moment, yes. I don’t know what the Drone Deploy guys have planned, here, but I’m sure they’ll tell you - either in house algorithms or an API for 3rd party analytics like DataMapper, I’d imagine? Anyway, yes. Take pictures and Drone Deploy will stitch into orthomosaic. Then you need to count off this. If you have no other way then manually counting. We normally run the imagery through some CV ( computer vision) script in Mathcad which does boundary selection to isolate the plants and from there does a plant count. So, it can be automated. There are a few scripts for this kicking around on GITHUB if you are tech-savy. Or the DD guys might have something up their sleeve that they can do for you if you ask them nicely - they’re a good Dev team.

Well…yes. The standard I1 with x3 camera can do this fine. Flying a map at up to V6 at somewhere around 40m will give you the required results in imagery. There are also a couple of NDVI conversions available for the X3. AerialMediaPros is a popular choice, but it depends what you are looking to get for it. The Drone Deploy NDVI tool suite is very good, though, and works well with this camera.