Community Spotlight: Grant Hagen

If you’ve tuned in to several construction focused DroneDeploy webinars or even attended DroneDeploy Day last year, our summer Community superstar of the month will look mighty familiar to you. Say howdy to Grant Hagen, a Virtual Design & Construction (VDC) Manager at The Beck Group.

What is your background and current role? What are your core responsibilities?

I have been with The Beck Group for a little over 6.5 years and have worn quite a few hats in my time here so far. I have a degree in Engineering and joined The Beck Group in 2012 as a Project Engineer. I started onsite at one of our larger projects at the time performing typical project management roles that included material procurement, project documentation, schedule coordination, and trade coordination.

After some time as a Project Engineer, I transitioned into a more corporate role and helped with some Operational Technology initiatives for our Architecture and Construction staff. Once I got those initiatives off the ground, I started researching the uses and developments of drones that I had been working towards from my early days on project sites.

All of that has led me to my current role in working on our Virtual Building Group Services team. which provides both in-house and out of house services for our project teams. It all relates to reality capture and project documentation, which includes drones.

How did you become involved in the drone industry or with drones?

It was on my first project as a Project Engineer where I saw the value drones could bring to projects by incorporating them into our workflows to give us a greater site awareness of various tasks that were typically time consuming or challenging to perform safely.

We first tested some applications with inspections back in 2013 with the Phantom 2 Vision, and quickly realized drones were not toys, but incredible tools we could put to work for us.