Calculating Areas and Distances

Hi I am a farmer from England (UK). I am interested in using DD for Field Mapping and accurately calculating areas and Distances. How accurate is the area calculation tool when using the free version or Pro?
Many Thanks

@peterthefarmer
In terms of area and laying, all of my checks have come back dead on. This is without the use of any ground control points. I think the ground control points and more detailed checks would be required if you start looking at volumes. With that being said my volume calculations without ground control points have been with a 98% of expected numbers. I have found that my numbers may be slightly off due to which pixel I click on as my starting in points which obviously would impact your measurements. For greater detail I have been using the auto cad files to make measurements.

1 Like

Peter - I have mapped a 385 acre diary farm in Leicestershire to calculate all the field sizes. The farmer employs the New Zealand grazing system so the farm is made up of 52 fields. I did some area calculations in DD and they were fine although I did all the final work in ArcGIS. Lots of flights!!

Good to hear you were successful Jeremy and DragonFlyer.

@peterthefarmer the accuracy will be best on pro, but probably fine on free.

Would it be accurate to 0.01 of a Ha.? This is a requirement for Agricultural area Measurements for the Purposes of Cross Compliance etc.
]

Hi @peterthefarmer,

I’d love to hear what the alternative ways to measure fields are that farmers are using for this purpose. Both curiosity, and also to understand how people avoid errors in their measurements. I’ve seen some people use GPS measurement apps, or expensive survey tools. For this purpose I’d assume the latter is prohibitively expensive.