Why No Gimbal Angle Setting? STILL?

We love DroneDeploy, but we are starting to do topographic survey jobs of large areas with associated 3D models. We are completely BAFFLED why there is no gimbal angle setting in DD. On large land topos, the orbits aren’t useful as we aren’t mapping buildings or a single object like a lighthouse. Before getting into drones, I wrote software for a living. I believe other competing apps like Pix4D and DJI Ground Station have this setting. In searching for forums I see a post from DD mentioning all the way back in February that it was on the roadmap and would be coming out soon. Here we are in October and still not setting. I can’t believe is would be that difficult or time consuming to add a gimbal angle override on mission settings? What’s the hold up?

3 Likes

Absolutely need this. At present I have to fly any obliques for 3D models using Autopilot or Ground Station. It really breaks up my workflow.

Hi @consultant and @mattell ,

Thanks for swinging by the DroneDeploy Forum. While we don’t have any news to share on whether or not this feature will be implemented in DroneDeploy, we appreciate your feedback and I have shared it with my team.

Cheers,
Christina

So has it been removed from the roadmap altogether? @Christina

Hi @mattell,

To my knowledge it is not on the roadmap but updates will be shared if this changes.

Cheers,
Christina

The OP from @consultant mentioned there was a DD post from Feb which had it on the road map. @Christina

From a coding standpoint this has to be SO easy. If it’s not on the roadmap, I’d LOVE to hear a technical explanation as to why not?