Realise there has been some back and forth here and wanted to clear a few things up:
1) Customers and trial users can share a link with anyone and the recipient does not need to sign up. They will be able to see all the map layers, download any existing exports, and interrogate any existing annotations. That is by far the easiest way to share. (here's one I made earlier)
2) If you want to see what your customer would see on your own map, just use "incognito mode" in Chrome or "private browsing" in Safari or Edge. Or sign out of DroneDeploy before you click the link.
3) If you would like your customer to be able to make edits, add annotations or create exports, you can add them as an "editor" on the map, and they will need to sign up for DroneDeploy.
4) If you cease payments to your DroneDeploy, you will find that the share links do still work and data may be retained and viewable by your client. However, you should be aware that if you are no longer paying for the service, we may shut down those share links or remove the data at any time. Hosting the many gigabytes of map data for ex customers and trial users can be seriously costly for us, so we may need to clean it up in future.
5) We are considering offering a "hibernation" account, where you pay a massively reduced rate (say $10) to serve as maintenance to guarantee your share links and map data to be retained, when not actively mapping. @markaguille - I'd be interested in your feedback in case that would be of interest to you during your down months.