Offline Maps

Hi, I am a professional fine art photographer looking for a solution like Dronedeploy that will allow me to use my iOS device and a P4P to shoot overlapping nadir photographs in remote desert areas with no internet connection. I need to be able to create these missions on site as I will be in a 4WD /camping situation with no base camp for internet. To do this I believe I need an app that is able to access high resolution satellite maps of about 100,000 square miles so I am free to roam and recce locations before creating and executing a mission.

Can DroneDeploy do this? If so can anyone point me to an article or link that will get me started?

Thanks for your help.

Hi @thinkpic,

I suggest taking a look at our Flying Offline support page to learn how you can plan a mission ahead of time.

Cheers,
Christina

Thanks Christina for your helpful suggestion but I had already read the section you pointed me to. The problem is I will not be able to plan missions ahead of time where I have an internet connection. We will be out in the Australian desert hundreds of miles away from any internet connection. Using previously viewed google maps as a reference to take us to a promising general area we will then make a series of reconnaissance flights with DJI GO4 to see what the country actually looks like at that time from the air. When we spot an area we think will make a great piece of art I want to be able to immediately develop and execute a mission to take about 100 photos that will later be stitched together into a super high resolution photo. Flying these reconnaissance missions and then returning hundreds of miles to an internet connection to plan the mission before returning to fly it is not an option. This is why I am looking for a way to access large pre-saved maps while offline.