Comparison of flight height and overlap % for mapping resolution

I have a 50 ha property that I wish to map.
(125 acres)

I’ve inserted old school units for those who need them.

I’ve made a decision to only use 6 batteries for the job and a flight time of about 90 minutes.

I’m new to DD/drone mapping and would appreciate some advice from experienced users.

I need to make a choice between low flight height at 60 metres (200 ft) with higher side/front overlap ratios or 100 metre (300 ft) flight height with lower overlap ratios.

In order to achieve good quality mapping which should I go for?

What is the minimum side overlap one should use?
Does the front overlap only affect flight speed? - and therefore it should be as high as possible?
Or do I just keep both overlaps on 75%

…and why does DD not provide an total camera image tally parameter during flight planning? Surely this is a most useful variable to be given as an outcome of one’s flight planning?

Similarly does the total time parameter take into account the reduced flight speed? - as the flight speed parameter is not real time anyway - don’t even know why it’s there in DD - it’s about as useful as a missing prop on my P4 pro!

Appreciate all feedback.

Hi Daniel,

Thanks for all your feedback. I hope I can help.

To briefly answer your questions - increasing frontlap will reduce flight speed at lower altitudes. This is because the camera can only capture images so fast.

Max flight speed should not be changed unless flying in very low light to reduce motion blur.

Sidelap should generally be increased after frontlap as it also increases flight time, but having very high frontlap and low sidelap will not produce as accurate stitch as more even numbers as you will have image density banding.

We have a couple of apps that might help you, while we are redesigning our interface to improve it.

First image count estimates:
https://www.dronedeploy.com/app-market/flight/tpuhhjdwihwstroyjguv.html