I had clicked on the check all button (which I thought initially just enabled a multiple delete mode/check boxes), then clicked on the ones I wanted to delete, which in turn unchecked those. Clicked the delete button and immediately noticed my mistake. I was moving fast so that's how it happened. I still do think it would be nice to have a trash bin for the deleted items to go into. They could be automatically deleted after say 30 days for example.