2000+ acre ortho advice :-)

Hello Everyone,
Hoping to get some advice here. Maybe start a conversation with someone or a few on how to go about this.
Let me explain who i am first.
I am a retired peace officer, I own a large athletic training center where most of the special tactics teams of the local police agencies train for free. I have been a professional photographer for almost 20 years, and just received my 107. I own (2) Inspire 1’s and a phantom 3. X3 and x5 cameras.
I am doing a pro bono ortho soon for the county jail/sheriff dept, and i am thinking about doing a pro bono or highly reduced cost ortho of the Plattsburgh International Airport. “issue is” its an old B-52 air force base and has maybe one of the biggest runways in the country, and its about 2100 acres. :slight_smile:
Any advice on how to go about this? I know, kind of crazy, but it will really open the door to alot of work, especially being granted to map the airport, kind of sets me apart from anyone else.
Thank you in advance.
Keith Provost

Hi @Provostdronesolution,

Congrats on getting your Part 107! My advice to you is to break up the area into smaller pieces for mapping. Please bear in mind that there are photo limits for each pricing plan on DroneDeploy. I’ve seen users map areas in chunks and then create a giant ortho in the end by stitching the JPEGs (or other image format) in a different software, like Photoshop.

I know there are quite a few in this community who have mapped large areas too and hope they see this post and chime in!

Cheers,
Christina

I agree with @Christina. If possible I would use GCP’s and create an overlaping grid. With the right settings you should be able to accomplish it in about 22 flights. Can you provide a kmz polygon of the site? I’d love to assist… And congrats on graduating!

Hi Michael,
Here yo go :slight_smile:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1L5-Yg4sGKxW_oiMX-keU3mDzHdzNuWC7

forum wont allow upload of kmz files. link to it on my google drive.